Entry #1

  1. There are many reasons why I chose to go to college. Growing up, I always knew that it was expected for people to go to college. Most of us were raised that way because my parents always encouraged my brothers and I to go. Part of the reason why I’m here is to make my parents proud of me, even though they don’t fully support what I’m majoring in. It still does not matter because I am teaching myself to follow my dreams and do what I want to do and not what my parents want me to do.
  2. Honestly, Converse College was not my first choice. I really wanted to go Berklee College of music in Boston where my family lives because I’m in love with the city! But I soon realized how much money that was going to cost me. I than heard from Converse through a music recruiter and I decided to audition. I hated the idea that it was an all girl’s school but I immediately changed my mind during orientation and saw how amazing everyone was to me and how this school is way better than a co ed school!
  3. All through my life, I grew up with multiple genres of music. I used to listen to all of these mixed CD’s that my brothers had 24/7. I even took them on car rides in a CD player back in the day. So you can pretty much say that I have been in love with music since day 1. It is what gets me through the day and keeps me going with my life. It runs through my veins and it’s all over the place. We would be nothing with music! Singing is my passion and I am extremely blessed to have my voice and actually going to school for it! I can’t wait for what the future is going to bring me.
  4. This video was a huge reality check about college; I really did not know how much money we all really put into it. It blew my mind when he said that we are pretty much paying $1 per minute. I also loved how he was saying that you don’t have to go to school to be an engineer or anything like everybody else wants you to; you need to go to college for something that drives your passion and of course mine would be my music. I know now that I made the perfect decision to go to college for singing.
4 Comments

  1. Hi, Karen, and welcome to Converse and the Petrie School! It’s great to hear about your passion for music and singing. I know it can be difficult to strike out on your own when your parents aren’t fully on board. Make sure you build a support network for yourself while you are here.

    I really love the incite in your blog entry. Now work to polish your writing skills–go back and reread every sentence and see if there’s a way to make it cleaner and clearer. Musicians have to do a good bit of writing in our profession. That might be almost as surprising as how much college really costs!

    Like

  2. Hi Karen!
    First of all I have to say that I love the title of your blog, it is hilarious! 🙂 I agree with you about not wanting to go to Converse when I first heard about it. I also disliked the idea of an all girls school, because I thought it would be weird. However, one I attended orientation I soon realized just how special Converse College is! Converse is way better than a co-ed school and I think we will grow so much through being in the music department here. God wanted you to be at Converse for a reason! Berkely is the path heavily traveled, but Converse is the path to real success.

    Like

  3. Hey Karen,
    I definitely relate to almost all of your blog! Converse was not my first choice either, but even before my audition I felt something was special about this place. I also relate when you wrote about listening to different genres of music growing up! My dad was (and still is) into old black gospel choir music and my mom has her own special taste…mostly consisting of anything she hears and likes on the radio.
    You’re totally right, Converse IS the path to real success!
    Olivia P.

    Like

  4. Hey Karen! I completely agree with your opinion on the Ted Talk! It was pretty shocking to hear that we pretty much pay a dollar a minute. I also loved how he said that doing what everyone else expects you to do won’t guarantee a great job, but you have to follow your own passion and do something you love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

