Finding my Flock:)

Well of course everyone is going to have a tough time fitting in and figuring things out in a new environment. When I first came to Converse, I was extremely shocked that was everyone was so nice to be honest. My thoughts were that there was going to be a lot of stuck up “preppy” girls. But it’s so diverse here and everybody and I mean everybody is nice! I love the atmosphere here:) Some challenges I overcame are of course adapting to a new schedule, new environment and new everything pretty much. You’ll get the hang of it after awhile. It’s all worth it! Myself being a commuter, it’s even harder because I don’t get to see all of the things that other do while staying on campus. That’s why I try my best to stay on campus as much as I can with a friend or something. I suggest to definitely try your best to do lots while on campus and practice, practice, practice!!! Be sure to experience a lot while you’re here and make lots of friends! Don’t be so shy, I know I’m not but I can be. I hope you will love Converse just as much as I do! It’s a great school and there’s no need to fit into a clique or anything like that as if you were in high school because I just love the fact that we can all be sisters here:) Enjoy Converse!

6 Comments

  1. Hello Karen!
    My computer finally let me access your blog, yay!
    Great blog post, your emotions toward the school and your experiences are very clear. I can really tell that you love it at converse, as do I!
    I also appreciated that you stressed the importance of not being too shy and putting yourself out there because it is so true; they are going to meet so many people.
    Great Job 🙂
    -Hati

    Like

  2. I’m so glad your preconceptions of “stuck up preppy” girls at Converse didn’t play out–and that you gave us a chance to prove those preconceptions wrong. Now go practice–right?!

    Like

  3. Karen!! It really is awesome when we are proven wrong in a good way. I too thought everyone would be preppy, but I find it so refreshing to find such levels of diversity. You’re right, a lot of awesome things happen on campus. Awesome that you’re trying to attend some of them 😉

    Like

  4. Hi Karen!
    I’m glad you have found ways to be connected and active in this Converse community despite being a commuter. I would certainly find it hard to stay involved, because I’d want to just go home and chill once I would finish my classes. I also thought that preppiness would rule this campus, but that’s so not true. However, I have fully embraced the southern culture of monograming everything! 🙂

    Like

  5. Hey Karennnn!
    So, yeah I thought everyone here was going to be preppy and catty, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised to find out that its not like that at all! We have a very loving student body, for the most part! Also, I agree that you really have to come out of your shell to meet people because being shy and antisocial won’t benefit you all the time!

    Like

  6. I thought Converse would be preppy too! I really imagined it being very “clique-y” and “mean girls-esque” but I’ve been pleasantly surprised to see the opposite!

    Like

Leave a Reply

