Cool Post 1

As most of you know, one of my all time favorite bands is Vampire Weekend! One day, I was on YouTube listening to one of their songs called Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa and I saw that there was a cover of it by a group called The Very Best. So I clicked on it and turns out, The Very Best are an African music based group that specialize in more modernized African music called Afro-Western Dance! I was extremely impressed by this cover for it definitely had the West African style to it! Vampire Weekend’s first album is actually mainly influenced on a style called Afrobeat. Especially the song Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa, and the Very Best just made it even more West African.The cover song shows a lot of repetition for one.It also shows some call and response and also has a male leader singing. In the background you can also hear some shakers and maybe even a balafon in some parts. So the first video here is Vampire Weekend’s song Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa and then the second video will be a cover of that song by The Very Best! I hope you enjoy:)

1 Comment

  1. OK, this is wonderful. As many times as I’ve listened to the VW album here, I’ve never gone over and checked out The Very Best. Yea! New fun stuff to listen to! And, as I’ve told you, I think you’ll find the documentary we’re watching on Friday, “Under African Skies,” quite illuminating. In fact, if you want to get a headstart, check out Paul Simon’s album “Graceland” from the library.

    Like

Leave a Reply

