Music and Family

Interviewing my best friends mom because I couldn’t get ahold of my family in Guatemala so I decided to interview her. She’s technically my 2nd mom anyway:p

Me: What sort of music were you exposed to at home?

Kathy: Mainly Country and some Motown. Such as Dolly Parton.

Me: What music, if any, were you NOT allowed to listen to at home? Why?

Kathy: My mom let me be my own person, I listened to whatever the hell I wanted to.

I was never restricted from my music.

Me: Did you ever employ music to pass the time while working?

Kathy: Yeah, I did it makes you more motivated to do your work.

Me: What sort of music were you exposed to outside of the home? When and where did this exposure take place?

Kathy: Rock or dance music on the radio or going to like dances or bars at night.

Me: Did anyone or anything ever discourage you from listening to “your” kind of music?

Kathy: No I was able to listen to whatever I wanted to.

Me: What kind of radio stations did you listen to, if any?

Kathy: Rock N’ Roll or Hard Metal

Me: How often, if ever, did you go to live concerts? What were they like?

Kathy: I went to a lot of concerts, they were pretty awesome! I went to go see Van Halen, Ozzy Osbourne 3 times, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden, ZZ Top, Nazareth, Aerosmith, and RUSH.

Me: Did you ever learn to play an instrument or have any vocal training?

Kathy: Piano and Clarinet but I suck!

Me: Was music incorporated into your daily life? If so, how?

Kathy: Kinda but not really, I would mainly listen to music in the car or while cleaning.

Me: Was there a time in your life when music comforted you?

Kathy: Yeah, sometimes music can say things that you can’t say.

Me: What type of music did you dance to?

Kathy: Bar music kinda like MC hammer music, that makes the beat goes fast

or like the song you dropped the bomb on me.

Me: Have your listening preferences changed over the course of your life?

Kathy: No, I pretty much listen to the same stuff such as AC/DC, Van Halen, Aerosmith, Foreigner, Judas Priest, etc.

MC Hammer haha get it?

MC Hammer haha get it?

dolly-parton-press-2014-650-430d772077a467269f42e66a12bf0c859c4

3 Comments

  1. It’s good that you had a member of your extended “family” to talk with, and I’m glad you did so. Still, it would be interesting to talk with the Guatemalan family about this sometime, too! It’s interesting to hear from someone that had both Dolly Parton and all those hair bands in their background!

    Like

Leave a Reply

